domains of child development

The Domains of Development  

Growing and learning go hand in hand. As young children learn and grow, interact with the world around them, and begin to understand how they fit into their world, they experience physical, cognitive, and social-emotional milestones. These milestones fall into different domains of human development, each of which describes an area of growth and learning.


Strong & Healthy Bodies

  • Overall health status
  • Self-help skills
  • A growing awareness of meeting basic needs
  • Good health and nutrition practices
  • Gross and fine motor skills – use and control of the body


Communication & Language

  • Understanding the meaning of feelings and ideas expressed by others
  • Receptive and expressive language
    • Expression by listening and using speech, sounds, gestures, facial expressions, body language, and words
  • Symbol and alphabet awareness
  • Developing reading and writing abilities


Sense of Self & Relationships

  • Emotional and behavioral skills
    • Relating to others
    • Developing a growing self-concept
    • Mastering self-regulation
    • Expressing feelings, wants and needs
  • Social interactions and skills
    • Cooperation with others
    • Resolving conflicts


Curious Minds

  • Developing wonder, curiosity, and the ability to explore
  • Willingness to try new things
  • Developing persistence and the ability to focus and be attentive
  • Creative expression through music, movement, dance, art, and drama
  • Early math, science, and social studies skills